USC Sumter is proud to be a part of the larger Carolina system. The USC System is made up of four regional campuses (USC Union, USC Salkehatchie, USC Sumter and USC Lancaster) and four senior campuses (USC Columbia, USC Upstate, USC Aiken and USC Beaufort).

USC Sumter is located in the heart of the state, about 45 miles east of the capital of Columbia, South Carolina. It is the only campus is the system that began as a Clemson University campus and then later changed to a University of South Carolina campus. USC Sumter became a University campus in 1973 and today has an enrollment of about 1,000 per academic year. USC Sumter confers two-year associate's degrees and offers baccalaureate degree programs in business administration, elementary education, nursing, early childhood education, organizational leadership and interdisciplinary studies through Palmetto College.

Review Our Stats

Meet the Dean

The Carolinian Creed




The University of South Carolina is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges to award associates, bachelors, masters, and doctoral degrees. Contact the Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, Georgia 30033-4097 or call 404-679-4500 for questions about the accreditation of the University of South Carolina. The accreditation report of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools is available to the public in the Office of the Provost and the Office of Institutional Assessment and Compliance and is on reserve at the Thomas Cooper Library.